Home Latest news What are the Shakti Peethas?
Latest news

What are the Shakti Peethas?

The Shakti Peethas are holy places of worship dedicated to Sati or Shakti. According to scriptures, there are 51 Peethas and these are believed to be places where the body parts of Sati fell. Hence the Shakti Peethas came into existence. These are significant shrines and pilgrimage destinations that have been blessed with the presence of Shakti.

Sati was one of the incarnations of Adi Shakti and the first wife of Lord Shiva. The most popular legend is based on the story of the death of Sati. After Sati’s self-immolation, Lord Shiva, out of grief and sorrow carried Sati’s body and performed the Tandava, the celestial dance of destruction, across the universe in his Bhairava form.

Shakti Peethas
Shakti Peethas

The dance caused huge destruction and the Gods approached Lord Vishnu to intervene. Lord Vishnu cut through Sati’s corpse using his Sudarshan Chakra. Different parts of her body fell at several places. Where ever the body parts fell, that place became a Shakti Peetha. All the Shakti Peethas have Goddess Shakti as the presiding deity along with her consort, Lord Bhairava.

Adi Shakti Peethas

There are 4 famous temples that are called the Adi Shakti Peethas. They are considered the most sacred of all the other Peethas. The Kamakhya temple in Assam (vagina), Dashineshwar temple in Kolkata (face), Tara Tarini temple in Behrampur (chest) and the Bimala temple in Puri (feet) are the most auspicious Shakti Peethas. These are known as the four Adi Shakti Peethas.

Shakti Peethas
Shakti Peethas

Why we celebrate Navaratri?

Navratri marks the victory of positivity over negativity. Navaratri is the ritual observance devoted towards the Mother of the Universe, Devi Durga (Adi Shakti). Moreover Devi Durga is the remover of all negativity and obstacles. On each day of Navaratri, different avatars of Goddess Durga are worshipped.

Best Rudraksha for Navratri

During Navratri, we at Rudralife will be worshipping divine 9 Mukhi Rudraksha which are blessed by Devi Durga herself during our entire 10 day long Navchandi Puja. These Rudrakshas will be energised with powerful Devi Pujas and Mantras and are highly auspicious for blessings of Devi Durga in her nine magnificent forms.

Also read-: Navratri: Significance, celebrations, puja rituals and best Rudraksha to wear

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Mahamrityunjaya Mantra
Latest newsLord ShivaUpcoming Puja

Mahamrityunjaya Mantra: The Most Powerful Lord Shiva Mantra!

One of the most powerful means of achieving immortality is through the...

Rama Navami
EventsFestivalsHinduism and ScienceLatest newsUpcoming Puja

Ram Navami 2023: The Powerful Avatar Of Lord Vishnu

Rama Navami celebrates the birth of Lord Rama, the seventh incarnation of...

How to Celebrate Navratri?
EventsFestivalsLatest news

How to Celebrate Chaitra Navratri 2023?

Learn how to celebrate Chaitra Navratri, the festival of Goddess Durga and...

Gudi Padwa Festival
FestivalsLatest newsSpirituality

Gudi Padwa: The Auspicious New Year Festival!

Discover the customs, traditions, and significance of Gudi Padwa, the auspicious Hindu...